Current Rajya Sabha Members from Assam

Last Updated on 8 August 2016

Total seven Rajya Sabha seats are there in Assam. Rajya Sabha is "Council of states" and it is also knows as the upper house of the Parliament of India. Assam have seven members in Rajya Sabha and they are indirectly elected by the state legislators of Assam. I.e. Assam MLAs elect the Rajya Sabha members who are nominated by their political party. Following is the list of Rajya Sabha members from Assam. the list contains the Rajya Sabha member(MPs) name and their political party.

List of Rajya sabha members from Aassam
No Member of parliament Political Party
1Bhubaneswar KalitaIndian National Congress
2Biswajit DaimaryBPF
3Manmohan SinghIndian National Congress
4Ranee NarahIndian National Congress
5Ripun BoraIndian National Congress
6Sanjay SinhIndian National Congress
7Santiuse KujurIndian National Congress

These members are elected for six years term to represent Assam in the Rajya Sabha.

Assam Rajya Sabha Members Party-wise

The elections were organised by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The number of seats, allocated to the political party, are determined by the amount of seats, a party possesses during nomination. political party with maximum number of MLAs in Assam state assembly gets to send the maximum number of MPs to the Rajya Sabha. Presently Indian National Congress(INC) party has the maximum numbers of Rajya Sabha members among all other political parties of Assam. Assam Rajya sabha Members Party-Wise listed below.

  • Indian National Congress(INC) has 6 members>
  • Bodoland People's Front(BPF) has 1 member

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.