Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha - M Thambidurai

Last Updated on 8 August 2016

AIADMK leader M Thambidurai was unanimously elected as the deputy speaker of the  Lok Sabha on Wednesday 12 August 2014.

Achieving the distinction of becoming the first person to be appointed to the post twice. He is the Five-time Lok Sabha MP and leader of AIADMK. He is elected to 16th lok sabha from Karur constituency in the South Indian state of Tamil Nadu, Located on the banks of River Amaravathi.

The motion for his election was moved by home minister Rajnath Singh and seconded by external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and was carried by voice vote. Almost all parties moved motions for his election, including the INC, AITC, Trinamool Congress, BJD and Shiv Sena to Samajwadi Party, NCP.

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan praised Thambidurai for his intellect, wisdom and long parliamentary experience saying his election would definitely raise the prestige of the post. Prime Minister Narendra Modi said: "He is an academician, activist and an agriculturist too. I assure the government will give complete cooperation to you."

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.