Current Ministers of Gujarat Government and their Portfolios

Last updated on 19 February 2017

on 3 August 2016, Anandiben patel resigned from Gujarat CM post. Vijay Rupani took charge as the new Chief Minister (CM) of Gujarat on 5 August 2016. Nitin Patel took charge as the new Deputy Chief Minister of Gujarat on 5 August 2016.

On 8 August 2016, Gujarat government Cabinet expansion and reshuffle took place in which CM Vijay Rupani inducted 11 new faces in his council of ministers and allocated portfolios to his Ministers, even as departments of several of the ministers were also reshuffled.

The Government of Gujarat consists of total 25 ministers, including 9 cabinet ministers and 16 minister of state(MoS).. The Cabinet of the state of Gujarat forms the executive branch of the Government of Gujarat.

There are two types of the minister in Gujarat government, which is determined by the position or grade. The superior or primary being Cabinet Ministers "Cabinet Minister" and the junior or secondary being "minister of State".

The following is a list of the ministers (state cabinet) in the Gujarat Government. The list contains ministers and their Portfolios, political party, constituency.

All Cabinet ministers of Gujarat.

Cabinet Minister is the main in-charge of a ministry. A cabinet minister may also hold additional charges of other Ministries if no other cabinet ministers are appointed to take charge of that ministries. cabinet ministers of Gujarat and their Portfolios are listed below.

Current Cabinet Ministers of Gujarat 2016
No Minister Name Ministries / Portfolios Political Party Constituency
1 Vijaykumar Ramniklal Rupani
  1. Chief Minister of Gujarat
  2. General Administration
  3. Administrative reforms and training
  4. Industries
  5. Home
  6. Climate Changes
  7. Ports
  8. Mines and Minerals
  9. Planning
  10. Science and Technology
  11. Information and Broadcasting
  12. All policies and subject matters not allotted to other Ministers
BJPRajkot West
2 Nitinbhai Patel
  1. Deputy Chief Minister of Gujarat
  2. Finance
  3. Petrochemicals
  4. Urban Development and Urban Housing
  5. Road and Building
  6. Capital Project
  7. Narmada and Kalpasar
3 Bhupendrasinh Manubha Chudasama
  1. Revenue
  2. Education (Primary, Secondary and Adult)
  3. Higher and Technical Education
  4. Law
  5. Parliamentary Affairs
4 Babubhai B. Bokhiriya
  1. Water Resources (Excluding Kalpasar)
  2. Animal Husbandry
  3. Fisheries
  4. Cow protection
  5. Salt Industry
  6. Civil Aviation
5 Chimanbhai Saparia
  1. Energy
  2. Agriculture
6 Atmaram Parmar
  1. Women and Child Development
  2. Social Justice and Empowerment
7 Jayesh Radadiya
  1. Food
  2. Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs
  3. Cottage Industry and Printing
8 Dilipkumar Viraji Thakore
  1. Disaster Management
  2. Pilgrimage Development
  3. Labour and Employment
9 Ganpat Vasava
  1. Tourism
  2. Tribal Development
  3. Forests

Minister of state(MoS) of Gujarat.

Minister of State (Mos) handles or takes charge of specific responsibility in that ministry. For example, a minister of state in the Education Ministry may only handle Primary Education. There are two types of the state minister in Gujarat government, Minister of state with independent charge and Minister of state. "Minister of state" of Gujarat and their ministry are listed below.

Minister of State (MoS) of Gujarat 2016
No Minister Name Ministries / Portfolios Political Party Constituency
1 Shankarbhai Lagdhirbhai Chaudhari
  1. Health and Family Welfare
  2. Medical Education
  3. Environment
  4. Urban Development
2 Pradeepsinh Bhagwatsinh Jadeja
  1. Home
  2. Energy
  3. Police Housing (independent charge)
  4. Border Security (independent charge)
  5. Civil Defence (independent charge)
  6. Law and Judiciary (independent charge)
  7. Prisons (independent charge)
  8. Religious and Pilgrimage Places (independent charge)
  9. Coordination of NGOs (independent charge)
  10. Non-Resident Gujaratis and Protocol (independent charge)
  11. Prohibition and Excise (independent charge)
3 Jayantibhai Ramjibhai Kavadiya
  1. Panchayat
  2. Rural Housing and Rural Development (All Independent Charge)
4 Nanubhai Bhagavanbhai Vanani
  1. Water Resources (excluding Kalpasar)
  2. Education (Primary and Secondary)
5 Parshottambhai Odhavjibhai Solanki
  1. Fisheries Department
BJPBhavnagar Rural
6 Jasabhai Bhanabhai Barad
  1. Water Supply
  2. Salt Industry
  3. Civil Aviation
7 Jaydrathsinh Chandrasinhji Parmar
  1. Road and Building
  2. Higher and Technical Education
8 Bachubhai Maganbhai Khabad
  1. Animal Husbandry
  2. Cow Protection
BJPDevgadh Baria
9 Ishwar Patel
  1. Cooperation
10 Vallabh Kakadiya
  1. Road Transport (independent charge)
11 Rajendra Trivedi
  1. Sports
  2. Youth and Cultural Affairs (independent charge)
  3. Pilgrimage Development
12 Keshaji Chauhan Socially and Educationally Backward Classes(SEBC, OBCs) Welfare department BJPDeodar
13 Rohit Patel
  1. Industries
  2. Mines and Minerals
  3. Finance
14 Vallabh Vaghasiya
  1. Agriculture
  2. Urban Housing
  3. Finance
15 Shabdsharan Tadvi
  1. Forest
  2. Tribal Welfare department
16 Nirmala Wadhwani Women and Child Development BJP

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.