How many members are there in Rajya Sabha

Last Updated on 8 August 2016

As per Article 80 of the constitution of India, The  Rajya Sabha is to consist of not more than Two hundred and fifty (250) members. Out of which 238 are to be elected and 12 are to be nominated by the President of India. The actual strength of Rajya Sabha as per present law is Two hundred and forty five (245), of which 233 are elected and 12 are nominated. As per Article 80 (3) of the Constitution of India President of India can nominates 12 Persons having special knowledge or practical experience or done extraordinary work in the field of literature, science, art and social service, sport. Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution.

 Allocation of Seats to the States and Union Territories in Rajya Sabha depends on the population of the State. A number of elected seats in the Rajya Sabha allotted to States and Union Territories has changed from time to time.

Each member is elected for a term of six years. members of Rajya Sabha are elected by the elected members of State Legislative Assemblies through the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. However, one-third of the members retire every second year and vacant seats are replaced by newly elected members. Rajya Sabha members indirectly elected by the state legislators. I.e. Each state MLAs elect the Rajya Sabha members who are nominated by their political party.  See Rajya Sabha members State-wise.

Present strength of Rajya Sabha in the current year 2016

In the Current year i.e. 2016 Present strength of Rajya Sabha is 243. Two Nominated seats are vacant.

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.