Current Rajya Sabha Members from Jammu and Kashmir

Last Updated on 8 August 2016

Total four Rajya Sabha seats are there in Jammu and Kashmir. Rajya Sabha is "Council of states" and it is also knows as the upper house of the Parliament of India. Jammu and Kashmir have four members in Rajya Sabha and they are indirectly elected by the state legislators of Jammu and Kashmir. I.e. Jammu and Kashmir MLAs elect the Rajya Sabha members who are nominated by their political party. Following is the list of Rajya Sabha members from Jammu and Kashmir. The list contains the members name and their political party.

List of Rajya sabha members from Jammu & Kashmir(J&K)
S.No. Rajya Sabha Member Name Political Party
1Ghulam Nabi AzadIndian National Congress
2Mir Mohammad FayazPDP
3Nazir Ahmed LawayPDP
4Shamsher Singh ManhasBJP

These members are elected for six years term to represent Jammu and Kashmir in the Rajya Sabha.

Jammu and Kashmir Rajya Sabha MPs Party-wise

The elections were organised by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The number of seats, allocated to the political party, are determined by the amount of seats, a party possesses during nomination. political party with maximum number of MLAs in Jammu and Kashmir state assembly gets to send the maximum number of MPs to the Rajya Sabha. Presently Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party(JKPDP) has the maximum numbers of Rajya Sabha members among all other political parties of Jammu and Kashmir. Jammu and Kashmir Rajya sabha Members Party-Wise are listed below.

  • Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) has 2 members.
  • Indian National Congress (INC) has 1 members.
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has 1 member.

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.