Current Ministers of Kerala Government and their Portfolios.

Last updated on 19 February 2017

Communist Party of India (Marxist) leader Pinarayi Vijayan took charge as the new Chief Minister of Kerala on 25 May 2016 along with other 18 ministers. The Government of Kerala consists of 19 cabinet ministers including Pinarayi Vijayan.. Out of 19 Ministers of Kerala 11 are from CPI(M) party, Four from CPI remaining four are from IND, JDS, NCP and Congress-S. The Cabinet of the state of Kerala forms the executive branch of the Government of Kerala. Left Democratic Front (LDF) is the coalition of parties led by the CPI(M) formed the Government under the leadership of Pinarayi Vijayan on 25 May 2016.

There are two types of the minister in state government, which is determined by the position or grade. The superior or primary being Cabinet Ministers "Cabinet Minister" and the junior or secondary being "minister of State".

The following is a list of the ministers (state cabinet) in the Kerala Government. The list contains ministers and their Portfolios, political party, constituency.

Cabinet ministers of Kerala.

Cabinet Minister is the main in-charge of a ministry. A cabinet minister may also hold additional charges of other Ministries if no other cabinet ministers are appointed to take charge of that ministries. All Cabinet members are mandated by the constitution to be members of the Vidhan Sabha of Kerala. cabinet ministers of Kerala and their Portfolios are listed below.

Ministers of Kerala Government and their Portfolios
No Minister Name Ministries / Portfolios Political Party Constituency
1 Pinarayi Vijayan
  1. Chief Minister of Kerala
  2. General Administration
  3. Home
  4. Vigilance
  5. Information Technology
  6. All other Portfolios not allocated
CPI(M) Dharmadom
2 T.M. Thomas Isaac Finance CPI(M) Alleppey
3 E. P. Jayarajan
  1. Industries
  2. Sports
CPI(M) Mattannur
4 G. Sudhakaran
  1. Public Works
  2. Registration
CPI(M) Ambalapuzha
5 A.K. Balan Welfare of Scheduled Tribes CPI(M) Tarur
6 K.K. Shylaja Health and Social Welfare CPI(M) Kuthuparamba
7 C. Raveendranath Education CPI(M) Puthukkad
8 Kadakampally Surendran
  1. Devaswom
  2. Electricity Boards
CPI(M) Kazhakoottam
9 T.P. Ramakrishnan
  1. Excise
  2. Labour
CPI(M) Perambra
10 J. Mercykutty Amma
  1. Fisheries
  2. Traditional Industries
CPI(M) Kundara
11 A.C. Moideen
  1. Co-operation
  2. Tourism
CPI(M) Kunnamkulam
12 K.T. Jaleel Local Administration IND Thavanur
13 E. Chandrasekharan Revenue CPI Kanhangad
14 V. S. Sunil Kumar Agriculture CPI Kodungallur
15 P. Thilothaman Food and Civil Supplies CPI Cherthala
16 K. Raju Forest CPI Punalur
17 Mathew T. Thomas Water Resources JDS Thiruvalla
18 A.K. Saseendran Transport NCP Elathur
19 Ramachandran Kadannappalli Ports Congress-S Kannur

Ministers of Kerala under the Oommen Chandy's government from May 2011 to 20 May 2016

Ministers of Kerala under the Oommen Chandy's government
No Minister Name Ministries / Portfolios Political Party Constituency
1 Oommen Chandy
  1. Chief Minister of Kerala
  2. General Administration
  3. All India Services
  4. Science, Technology and Environment
  5. Scientific Institutes
  6. Personnel and Administrative Reforms
  7. Elections
  8. Integration
  9. Sainik Welfare
  10. Distress Relief
  11. State Hospitality
  12. Inter State River Waters
  13. Administration of Civil and Criminal Justice
  14. All other Portfolios not allocated
INC Puthupally
2 P. K. Kunhalikutty
  1. Information Technology
  2. Industries ( including Industrial Co-operatives )
  3. Mining and Geology
  4. Handlooms and Textiles
  5. Wakf and Haj Pilgrimage
IMUL Vengara
3 K. P. Mohanan
  1. Agriculture
  2. Animal Husbandry
  3. Printing & Stationery
  4. Soil Conservation
  5. Soil Survey
  6. Warehousing Corporation
  7. Agricultural University
  8. Veterinary University
SJ (D) Kuthuparamba
4 Shibu Baby John
  1. Labour & Skills
  2. Employment and Training
  3. Rehabilitation
  4. Factories and Boilers
  5. Insurance Medical Service
  6. Industrial Tribunals
  7. Labour Courts
RSP (B) Chavara
5 Anoop Jacob
  1. Food
  2. Civil supplies
  3. Consumer Protection & Registration
KC (M) Piravom
6 Ramesh Chennithala
  1. Home
  2. Vigilance
  3. Fire and Rescue Services
  4. Prisons
7 Aryadan Mohammed
  1. Power
  2. Electricity
  3. Railways
  4. Post and Telegraphs
  5. Pollution Control
INC Nilambur
8 K. C. Joseph
  1. Rural Development
  2. Planning and Economic Affairs
  3. Culture & NORKA
  4. Dairy Development
  5. Information and Public Relations
  6. Non-Resident Keralites Affairs
INC Irikkur
9 P. K. Abdu Rabb
  1. Education
  2. Collegiate Education
  3. General Education
  4. Technical Education
  5. Universities except Agricultural
  6. Veterinary
  7. Fisheries
  8. Medical University
  9. Entrance Examinations
  10. Literacy Movement
  11. National Cadet Corps
IUML Tirurangadi
10 Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan
  1. Forest
  2. Wild Life Protection
  3. Environment
  4. Transport
  5. Road Transport
  6. Motor Vehicles
  7. Water Transport
  8. Sports & Cinema
  9. Kerala State Film Development Corporation
  10. Kerala Chalachitra Academy
  11. Kerala Cultural Workers Welfare Fund Board
INC Kottayam
11 Adoor Prakash
  1. Revenue and Coir
  2. Land Revenue
  3. Land Reforms
  4. Survey and Land Records
  5. Legal Metrology
  6. Coir
INC Konni
12 P. J. Joseph
  1. Water Resources
  2. Water Supply and Sanitation
  3. Irrigation
  4. Command Area Development Authority
  5. Ground Water Development
  6. Inland Navigation ( Construction of Water Ways )
KC (M) Thodupuzha
13 A. P. Anilkumar
  1. Welfare of Scheduled Castes & Backward Classes
  2. Tourism
INC Wandoor
14 K. Babu
  1. Fisheries
  2. Ports
  3. Excise
  4. Harbour Engineering
  5. Fisheries University
  6. Airports
  7. Kerala Shipping and Inland Navigation Corporation
INC Thripunithura
15 C. N. Balakrishnan
  1. Co-operation
  2. Khadi & Village Industries
INC Wadakkancherry
16 V. K. Ebrahim Kunju
  1. Public Works
IUML Kalamassery
17 Smt. P. K. Jayalakshmi
  1. Welfare of Scheduled Tribes
  2. Youth Affairs
  3. Museum & Zoos
INC Mananthavady
18 Dr. M. K. Muneer
  1. Panchayats and Social Justice
  2. Kerala Institutes of Local Administration
IUML Kozhikode (S)
19 Manjalamkuzhi Ali
  1. Urban Affairs
  2. Welfare of Minorities
  3. Municipalities and Corporations
  4. Town Planning
  5. Regional Development Authorities
IUML Perinthalmanna
20 V. S. Sivakumar
  1. Health
  2. Family Welfare
  3. Devaswom
  4. Medical Education
  5. Medical University
  6. Indigenous Medicines
  7. Drugs Control
  8. Homoeopathy
  9. Naturopathy
INC Thiruvananthapuram

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.