Lok Sabha

Information at glance

Introduction to Lok Sabha

As per the Constitution up to 552 members can be elected to represent the Lok Sabha. An i.e. Maximum strength of Lok Sabha is 552. Up to 530 members to represent the States, up to 20 members can be elected to represent the Union Territories. And the President of India can nominate two members of the Anglo-Indian Community.

HISTORY of the Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha (House of the People) was constituted for the first time on 17 April 1952 after the first General Elections held from 25 October 1951 to 21 February 1952. The Lok Sabha is composed of representatives of the people chosen by direct election on the basis of adult suffrage

Duration of Lok Sabha

Lok Sabha continues for five years from the date appointed for its first meeting. However this period can be extended by Parliament in the case of Proclamation of Emergency is in operation. The Maximum period of extension is not more than one year. If Proclamation of Emergency has ceased then Lok Sabha cannot exceed beyond six months.

How many Lok Sabha members are elected from each state

How many members(MPs) are elected from each state is depends on the population of the State. And this rule is applicable to all States. see Total numbers of members that can be elected from each state and union Territories.The number is divided among the 29 states and seven union Territories.

How are the Members of the Lok Sabha elected

The Members of the Lok Sabha are elected through General Elections, held on the basis of universal adult suffrage. A person older than eighteen years can vote. Parliament, by law, makes provision with respect to all matters including elections to the Lok Sabha, the preparation of electoral rolls, polling booth. When the seat of a Member elected to the House becomes vacant or is declared vacant, or his/her election is declared void, bye-election is taken place to fill the vacant space.

Qualifications to become a Member of the Lok Sabha

To become a member of the Lok Sabha, a person should be a citizen of India. His/Her age should not be less than 25 years.

Present elected members to the 16th Lok sabha

16th Lok sabha is consist of 543 members. Indian general election of 2014 was held to constitute the 16th Lok Sabha, which was taken place in nine phases from May 7, 2014, to 12 May 2014. The results were declared on 16 May 2014.

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of www.newincept.com

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of www.newincept.com. He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, www.newincept.com receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.