Current Ministers of Mizoram Government and their Portfolios

Last updated on 19 February 2017

Indian National Congress party leader Lal Thanhawla took charge as the Chief Minister of Mizoram on 12 December 2013 along with other ministers. The Government of Mizoram consists of 8 cabinet ministers 4 minister of state.. The Cabinet of the state of Mizoram forms the executive branch of the Government of Mizoram. The Mizoram Vidhan Sabha (Mizoram Legislative Assembly) consists of 40 members (MLA), and these members are elected for five years. Indian National Congress (INC) party formed the Government under the leadership of Lal Thanhawla on 12 December 2013.

There are two types of the minister in Mizoram government, which is determined by the position or grade. The superior or primary being Cabinet Ministers "Cabinet Minister" and the junior or secondary being "minister of State".

The following is a list of the ministers (state cabinet) in the Mizoram Government. The list contains ministers and their Portfolios, political party, constituency.

Cabinet ministers of Mizoram.

Cabinet Minister is the main in-charge of a ministry. A cabinet minister may also hold additional charges of other Ministries if no other cabinet ministers are appointed to take charge of that ministries. All Cabinet members are mandated by the constitution to be members of the Vidhan Sabha of Mizoram. cabinet ministers of Mizoram and their ministry are listed below.

Cabinet Ministers of Mizoram
No Minister Name Ministries / Portfolios Political Party Constituency
1 Lal Thanhawla
  • Chief Minister of mizoram
  • Political & Cabinet Department
  • Vigilance Department
  • General Administration Department
  • Secretariat Administration Department
  • Personnel & Administration Reforms
  • Information & Public Relations Department
  • Public Works Department
  • Power & Electricity Department
  • District Council Affairs
INC Serchhip
2 R.Lalzirliana
  • Home ( Including Prisons & Sainik Welfare Resettlement )
  • Agriculture
  • Rural Development Department
  • Excise & Narcotics
INC Tawi
3 R. Romawia
  • Higher & Technical Education
  • Art & Culture
  • Land Revenue & Settlement
  • Parliamentary Affairs
INC Aizawl North-I
4 Lalsawta
  • Finance
  • Planning & program Implementation
  • Taxation
  • Law & Judicial
INC Aizawl East II
5 H. Rohluna
  • School Education
  • Industries including Directorate of Mining & Mineral Resources
  • Trade & Commerce
INC Lengteng
6 Zodintluanga
  • UD & PA
  • Sports & Youth Services
  • Public Health Engineering
INC Thorang
7 John Rotluangliana
  • Food, Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs
  • Transport
  • Tourism
INC Mamit
8 P.C. Lalthanliana
  • Horticulture
  • Local Administration Department
  • Social Welfare Department
INC Lunglei North

Minister of state(MoS) of Mizoram.

Minister of State (Mos) handles or takes charge of specific responsibility in that ministry. For example, a minister of state in the Education Ministry may only handle Primary Education. There are two types of the state minister in Mizoram government, Minister of state with independent charge and Minister of state. "Minister of state" of Mizoram and their ministry are listed below.

Ministers of State
No Minister Name Ministries / Portfolios Constituency Political Party
1 Lal Thanzara
  • Health & Family Welfare
  • Minor Irrigation
  • Information & Communication Technology (PWD leh P&E Department ah te Chief Minister a pui ang)
INC Aizawl North-III
2 Lalrinmawia Ralte
  • Environment & Forests
  • Cooperation
  • Labour, Employment & Industrial Training
  • Soil & Water Conservation
INC Hachhek
3 C. Ngunlianchunga
  • Animal Husbandary & Veterinary
  • Disaster Management & rahabilitation
  • Printing & Stationery
INC Lawngtlai West
4 Dr. B.D. Chakma
  • Sericulture
  • Fisheries
INC Tuichawng

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.