Current Ministers of Punjab Government and their Portfolios

Last updated on 19 February 2017

Shiromani Akali Dal party leader Parkash Singh Badal took charge as the Chief Minister of Punjab on 15 March 2012 along with other ministers. The Government of Punjab consists of 18 cabinet ministers.. The Cabinet of the state of Punjab forms the executive branch of the Government of Punjab. The Punjab Vidhan Sabha (Punjab Legislative Assembly) consists of 117 members (MLA), and these members are elected for five years. Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) coalition formed the Government under the leadership of Parkash Singh Badal on 15 March 2012.

There are two types of the minister in state government, which is determined by the position or grade. The superior or primary being Cabinet Ministers "Cabinet Minister" and the junior or secondary being "minister of State".

The following is a list of the ministers (state cabinet) in the Punjab Government. The list contains ministers and their Portfolios, political party, constituency.

All Cabinet ministers of Punjab.

Cabinet Minister is the main in-charge of a ministry. A cabinet minister may also hold additional charges of other Ministries if no other cabinet ministers are appointed to take charge of that ministries. All Cabinet members are mandated by the constitution to be members of the Vidhan Sabha of Punjab. cabinet ministers of Punjab and their ministry are listed below.

Cabinet Ministers of Punjab
No Minister Name Ministries / Portfolios Political Party Constituency
1 Parkash Singh Badal
  1. Chief Minister of Punjab
  2. Personnel
  3. General Administration
  4. Co-operation
  5. Science Technology & Environment
  6. Vigilance
  7. Civil Aviation
SAD Lambi
2 Sukhbir Singh Badal
  1. Deputy Chief Minister of Punjab
  2. Home
  3. Governance Reforms
  4. Housing & Urban Development
  5. Excise & Taxation
  6. Investment Promotion
  7. Sports & Youth Services Welfare
  8. Power
SAD Jalalabad
3 Bhagat Chunni Lal
  1. Forest & Willd Life
  2. Labour
BJP Jalandhar West
4 Adaish Partap Singh Kairon
  1. Food
  2. Civil Supplies & Consumer Affairs
  3. Information & Technology
  4. Food Processing
SAD Patti
5 Ajit Singh Kohar
  1. Transport
  2. Legal & Legislative Affairs
  3. Elections
  4. Employment Generation & Training
SAD Shahkot
6 Gulzar Singh Ranike
  1. Animal Husbandry & Fisheries
  2. Dairy Development
  3. Welfare of SCs & BCs
SAD Attari
7 Madan Mohan Mittal
  1. Industries & Commerce
  2. Technical Education & Industrial Training
  3. Parliamentary Affairs
BJP Anandpur Sahib
8 Parminder Singh Dhindsa
  1. Finance & Planning
  2. Institutional Finance & Banking
  3. Programme Implementation
SAD Sunam
9 Sohal Singh Thanda
  1. Jails
  2. Tourism
  3. Cultural Affairs
  4. Archives & Museums
  5. Printing & Stationery
SAD Chabbewal
10 Janmeja Singh Sekhon
  1. P.W.D (B & R)
  2. Defence Services Welfare
  3. Removal of Grievances & Welfare of Pensioners
SAD Maur
11 Surjit Kumar Jayani
  1. Health & Family Welfare
  2. Social Security & Development of Women & Children
BJP Fazilka
12 Tota Singh
  1. Agriculture
  2. NRI Affairs
SAD Dharamkot
13 Bikram Singh Majithia
  1. Revenue
  2. Rehabilitation & Disaster Management
  3. Information & Public Relations
  4. Non Conventional Energy
SAD Majitha
14 Sikandar Singh Malooka
  1. Rural Development & Panchayats
SAD Rampura Phul
15 Anil Joshi
  1. Local Government
  2. Medical Education & Research
BJP Amritsar North
16 Surjit Singh Rakhra
  1. Water Supply & Sanitation
  2. Higher Education & Languages
SAD Samana
17 Sharanjit Singh Dhillon
  1. Irrigation
SAD Sahnewal
18 Dr. Daljit Singh Cheema
  1. Education
SAD Rup Nagar

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 3,10,000 to 3,30,000 Pageviews/month.