Current Rajya Sabha Members from Punjab

Last Updated on 8 August 2016

Total Seven Rajya Sabha seats are there in Punjab. Rajya Sabha is "Council of states" and it is also knows as the upper house of the Parliament of India. Punjab have Seven members in Rajya Sabha and they are indirectly elected by the state legislators of Punjab. I.e. Punjab MLAs elect the Rajya Sabha members who are nominated by their political party. Following is the list of Rajya Sabha members from Punjab. The list contains the members name and their political party.

List of Rajya sabha members of Punjab
S.No. Rajya Sabha Member Name Political Party
1Ambika SoniINC
2Balwinder Singh BhunderShiromani Akali Dal
3Naresh GujralShiromani Akali Dal
4Sardar SukhDev Singh DhindsaShiromani Akali Dal
5Pratap Singh BajwaINC
6Shamsher Singh DulloINC
7Shwet MalikBJP

These members are elected for six years term to represent Punjab in the Rajya Sabha.

Punjab Rajya Sabha Members Party-Wise

The elections were organised by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The number of seats, allocated to the political party, are determined by the amount of seats, a party possesses during nomination. political party with maximum number of MLAs in Punjab state assembly gets to send the maximum number of MPs to the Rajya Sabha. Presently Indian National Congress(INC) party has the maximum numbers of Rajya Sabha members among all other political parties of Punjab. Punjab Rajya sabha Members Party-Wise listed below.

  • Bhartiya Janata Party(BJP) has 1 member
  • Indian National Congress (INC) has 3 members
  • Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) has 3 members

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also


vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.