Current Rajya Sabha Members from Tamil Nadu

Last Updated on 8 August 2016

Total 18 Rajya Sabha seats are there in Tamil Nadu. Rajya Sabha is "Council of states" and it is also knows as the upper house of the Parliament of India. Tamil Nadu have 18 members in Rajya Sabha and they are indirectly elected by the state legislators of Tamil Nadu. I.e. Tamil Nadu MLAs elect the Rajya Sabha members who are nominated by their political party. Following is the list of Rajya Sabha members from Tamil Nadu. The list contains the members name and their political party.

List of Rajya sabha members from Tamil Nadu.
S.No. Rajya Sabha Member Name Political Party
1A. NavaneethakrishnanAIADMK
2A. VijayakumarAIADMK
3A.K. SelvarajAIADMK
4D. RajaCPI
5R. S. BharathiDMK
6R. VaithilingamAIADMK
7K.R. ArjunanAIADMK
8smt. KanimozhiDMK
9S. R. BalasubramoniyanAIADMK
10R. LakshmananAIADMK
11S. MuthukaruppanAIADMK
12T. K. S. ElangovanDMK
13Sasikala PushpaAIADMK
14T. RathinavelAIADMK
15T.K. RangarajanCPI (M)
16Tiruchi SivaDMK
17V. MaitreyanAIADMK
18Vijila SathyananthAIADMK

These members are elected for six years term to represent Tamil Nadu in the Rajya Sabha.

Tamil Nadu Rajya Sabha Members Party-wise

The elections were organised by the Election Commission of India (ECI). The number of seats, allocated to the political party, are determined by the amount of seats, a party possesses during nomination. political party with maximum number of MLAs in Tamil Nadu state assembly gets to send the maximum number of MPs to the Rajya Sabha. Presently AIADMK party has the maximum numbers of Rajya Sabha members among all other political parties of Tamil Nadu. Tamil Nadu Rajya sabha Members Party-Wise listed below.

  • All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(AIADMK) has 12 members
  • Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(DMK) has 4 members
  • Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI (M)) has 1 member
  • Communist Party of India (CPI) has 1 member

Share this article :

Facebook Twitter Google

See Also

vishal hule is the author of

Authored By Vishal Hule

Vishal Hule is the founder of He is from Pune. Vishal Hule is Software Engineer by profession and political enthusiast too.
His blog, receives 4,20,000 to 4,30,000 Pageviews/month.